top of page

Final Race determines Kayak Krazy series winners

After a disappointing delay of the final race of the 2023 Kayak Krazy Winter series, it was able to go ahead as part of the CRNZ Tikitapu 1 Sprint Regatta on Sunday 3rd December at Lake Tikitapu in Rotorua, featuring over 50paddlers in a great spectacle of distance paddling.

This event was not only the CRNZ 10km Championships, but was also worth double points in the series and determined the overall Kayak Krazy Series points winners.

Vaughan Reed (right) was crowned the opens men winner in the 2023 Kayak Krazy Winter Series

Congratulations to the following series division winners:

12&Under Male- K1/ski (2-3km)

1: Gus Kinsella (Poverty Bay Kayak Club)


12&Under female- K1/ski (2-3km)

1: Greer Hambleton (Hawkes Bay Kayak Club)


14&Under male- K1 (5-6km)

1: AJ Kinsella (Poverty Bay Kayak Club)


14&Under male- oceanski/surfski/multisport (5-6km)

1: Rory Orman (Takapuna Boating Club)


14&U female- K1 (5-6km)

1: Taylor Newman (Poverty Bay Kayak Club)


16&U male – K1 (5-6km)

1: Maxwell Kennedy (Poverty Bay Kayak Club)


18&U Women - K1 (10km)

1: Leah McCallum (Arawa Canoe Club)


Open Men – K1 (10km)

1: Vaughan Reed (North Shore Canoe Club)


Masters Men 55-64years – K1 (10km)

1: Grant Morrish (Hawkes Bay Kayak Club)


Masters Men (40years +) – oceanski/surfski/multisport (10km)

1: Sean Murphy (Waitemata Kayak Club)


Masters Women - K1 (10km)

1: Rosemary Gatland (North Shore Canoe Club)


Sup Women (5-8km)

1: Rosara Davis (Takapuna Boating Club)

To be eligible for the series, paddlers must have completed 2 races plus the final race in Rotorua.

The Kayak Krazy series this year saw over 200paddlers take part in 9 races across the country. A massive thank you to the 7 CRNZ kayak clubs who ran a race in their region.

The final showdown at Lake Tikitapu was a fantastic spectacle following the sprint races earlier in the day. Over 50paddlers in all ages groups raced either a 2.5km, 5km or 10km loop course which saw some incredibly close finishes across all divisions, as competitors fought for double points and national titles.

Congratulations also to LEAH MCCALLUM who won the $300 travel prize thanks to Elliot Travel!

Kayak Krazy final race 2023 results
Download PDF • 36KB

For full series info see the series webpage-



bottom of page