top of page

Darcy Price
NZ Ocean Surfski Series

The Darcy Price NZ Ocean Surfski Series is the national ocean racing series comprising of the premier surfski races around Aotearoa. 

The Darcy Price series is made up of 8 events each summer, one of which will also double as the NZ Ocean Racing National Championships. A paddler’s best 4 races will count towards the series results, with a prize-giving at the final event. 

These events will also contribute to the selection criteria for the ICF Ocean Racing World Championships.


With this series we hope to:

1. Promote the sport and grow the paddling community.
2. Encourage paddlers to compete, challenge themselves and experience these fantastic events.
3. Provide a pathway for paddlers to compete in international surfski events.

2023/24 live Leaderboard- after 3 races

Click link above to see the current points and standings, half way though the series. Note: the 23/24 series is best 3 races.

Races & Dates for 2023/24 season



Tutukaka - Saturday 2nd September 2023


Windy City Downwind

Te Whanganui a Tara | Wellington - Saturday 14th October 2023


Deep SOuth Downwind

Tāhuna | Queenstown - Saturday 9th December 2023


Paddler Virtual Champs 

Aotearoa | Virtual - 1st to 31st January 2024



James Moore-morial “Bhutty Moore” Race

Tauranga | Mt Maunganui - Saturday 3rd February 2024


Queen and King of the Bay

Te Tai o Aorere | Tasman - 17/18 February 2024

RESULTS, ,Race Report


Heads to Harbour

Whakatane - Saturday 9th March 2024


Auckland King & Queen of the Harbour

Tamaki Makaurau | Auckland -Saturday 11th May 2024

Note: the 2024 NZ Ocean Ski National Championships will be held in the latter half of 2024, incorporated into the 24/25 series.

Darcy Price Series and Points

2023/24 Update: Due to multiple event cancelations, this series will now be the total of their best THREE race points. See full details

A competitor’s series points will be the total of their best 4 race points. The male and female paddler with the most points at the end of the series will be the Darcy Price NZ Ocean Racing Series Champion for that season.


All races are to be worth 300 points, except the race designated as the National Championships. This will be worth 400 points.

All Races (except National Championships)


1st: 300 points

2nd: 290 points

3rd: 281 points 

4th: 273 points

5th: 266 points

6th: 260 points

7th: 255 points

8th: 251 points

9th: 248 points

10th: 246 points

11th onwards – one point gap between placings 245, 244, 245 etc

National Championship race

1st: 400 points

2nd: 380 points

3rd: 362 points

4th: 346 points

5th: 332 points

6th: 320 points

7th: 310 points

8th: 302 points

9th: 296 points

10th: 292 points

11th: 290 points

12th onwards – one point gap between placings 289, 288, 287 etc

In the event of total series points being equal following the conclusion of the series, the NZ Ocean Racing Nationals Championships will be the deciding race.

International competitors are eligible for Darcy Price series points.


Age groups/divisions


All races in the series will follow the following age categories (with both male and female divisions):

  • Junior Ski (18yrs and under)

  • Under 23 Ski (19 to 23yrs)

  • Open Ski (Open! Includes all age categories)

  • Over 40 Ski (40-49yrs)

  • Over 50 Ski (50-59yrs)

  • Over 60 Ski (60+yrs)

  • Double Ski Open (no age groups, mixed, male and female)


There's no need to decide what age group you want to race- it's calculated automatically based on your date of birth (and your age at 31 December of the year of the race). Everyone is eligible for Open rankings in addition to their age group. 


For the purpose of the Darcy Price Series scoring, competitors' age groups are calculated based on the age they are turning in the year of the last race of the series. For example, for the 2022-2023 series, competitors' age groups will be determined as at 31/12/23.


Darcy Price Series winners


Male: Tim Waller

Female: Danika Mowlem

Mixed double: Dan Bremner/Amber Bonny


Male: Chris Emmett

Female: Danika Mowlem

Mixed double: Dan Bremner/Amber Bonny


Male: Ben Keys

Female: Danika Mowlem


Male: Ben Keys

Female: Rachel Clarke

King and Queen 2022-0069-2.jpg

About Darcy Price

Darcy price.jpg

The series has been named after Darcy Price, who sadly passed away in 2018. 

Darcy was one of the driving forces behind ski paddling in New Zealand, founding the Auckland King and Queen of the Harbour and the Takapuna Beach Series surfski races.  He was also an accomplished anaesthetist and was well known in medical circles for his practice and research.

Most of all, he was a fantastic guy and enthusiastic paddling companion, many paddlers have fond memories of surfski adventures shared with Darcy. 

We feel that this is a fitting tribute to Darcy and that he would have loved the idea of promoting surfski paddling again in New Zealand, giving more people the opportunity to enjoy this great sport in some beautiful parts of the country.

bottom of page