top of page

Kayak Krazy 10km Series

The Kayak Krazy 10km series is made up club-run paddling races around New Zealand to keep all paddlers active and connected over the winter months. 

With something to suit for all ages and abilities in a fun, relaxed club environment, events are held between June and September/October every year, culminating in the 10km National Champs in Rotorua. This is open to Kayaks (K1), Multi-craft boats (includes ocean ski, surf ski, multisport boats and sea kayaks) and team boats (please note, team boats are not eligible for series points). Many events will also be open to SUP, Waka Ama or other paddling craft. 

A paddler’s best 3 races count towards series points, one of which must be the finale event, the 10km Champs.
There are shorter distances available for junior or more recreational paddlers.


With this series we hope to:

  • Encourage the paddling community to keep active and social throughout the winter months.

  • Attract and bring together all paddlers and kayaking disciplines (kayak, oceanski/surfski, multisport) 

  • Provide good quality events to allow paddlers to challenge themselves, compete and have fun.

  • Encourage inter-club relationships and connections

2023 Series & Dates - Coming IN JUNE


2022 Kayak KrazY series - Final ResULTS

2022 Series & Dates

Race 1: Bay of Plenty, 25th June

Race 2: Whanganui, 3rd July


Race 3: Waitemata, Auckland, 23rd July


Race 4: Whanganui, 31st July

Race 5: Waitemata, Auckland, 20th August


Race 6: Lake Karapiro, 28 August

Race 7: Arawa, Christchurch, 4 September

Race 8: 10Km national Champs*, Lake Okareka, Rotorua, 17 September

Entries for each event are to be completed with each organising club.

Kayak Krazy Series and Points


To be eligible for the series, paddlers need to compete in a minimum of 3 races to accumulate points (top 3 results will be taken if they race more than 3 races), but one of these races MUST include the 10km Champs to be held at the end of the series.  

Each placing in an event will be allocated a number of points as shown below, per division. The 10km Champs is worth DOUBLE points. The winner of the series will be the participant with the highest number of points from their best 3 races.

All Races (except 10km Championships)


1st: 10 points

2nd: 8 points

3rd: 7 points 

4th: 6 points

5th: 5 points

6th: 4 points

7th: 3 points

8th: 2 points

9th and lower: 1 point

* The 10km National Championships is worth double points.

In the event of total series points being equal following the conclusion of the series, the 10km National Championships will be the deciding race.


Age groups/divisions

Within the series, the following divisions will be recognised (both male and female):

  • 12years and Under (2-3km race)

    Juniors (5-6km race)    

  • 14years and under

  • 16years and under

    Seniors (10km race)

  • K1 18years and under

  • K1 Open

  • K1 Masters 35-45years

  • K1 Masters 45-55years

  • K1 Masters 55-65 years

  • K1 Masters 65+

  • Multi-craft* 18years and Under

  • Multi-craft Open

  • Multi-craft Masters (over 40years)

Age divisions are determined based on paddler’s age as at 31 December of the year of the series. For example if you turn 14 anytime in 2022 you will be in 14&U but if you turn 15 anytime in 2022 you will be in 16&U.


Paddlers must be consistent with the category they race if they want to accumulate points for the series.  i.e. They either enter K1 or Multi-craft.  Paddlers are unable to win multiple categories in the series (age or craft).

jeremy andy michael.jpg

Previous Series Results

The Kayak Krazy 10km series has been running since 2011.

Check out all the previous series results here:

Thanks to the Race Organisers

This series is only possible thanks to the support of CRNZ Kayak Clubs who commit to running these events at their clubs for the benefit of paddlers.

If your club would like to run an event(s) in the series, please contact Karen Simpson

Whanganui 7 Aug.JPG
bottom of page