top of page

PADDLER  Winter Series

The Paddler Winter series is made up club-run paddling races around New Zealand to keep all paddlers active and connected over the winter months. 

With something to suit for all ages and abilities in a fun, relaxed club environment, events are held between June and September/October every year, culminating in the 10km National Champs in Rotorua. This series is open to Kayaks (K1), Multi-craft boats (includes ocean ski, surf ski, multisport boats and sea kayaks) and team boats. Many events will also be open to SUP, Waka Ama or other paddling craft. Each event can choose their own event/race format. There will always be suitable/shorter distances for junior or more recreational paddlers.

A paddler’s best 3 races count towards series points. The final race at Lake Okareka, Rotorua is worth double points in the series. Compete in 3 or more races and go into the draw to win a $300 Travel Voucher thanks to World Travellers Gisborne! 










2023 Series - FINAL RESUlts


2024 Series & Dates

Race 1: 8th June- Wellington, Mana Kayak CLub 

Race 2: 7th July- Auckland, Waitemata Canoe & MULTISPORT CLub

Race 3: 13th July- CHRISTCHURCH, ARAWA Canoe CLub


Race 4: 21st July- Motueka, Nelson Surfski Club

Race 5: 28th July- Hawkes Bay, Hawkes Bay Kayak Racing CLub

Race 6: 3rd AUGUST- Taranaki, Waitara Kayak CLub

Race 7: 17th AUGUST -Auckland, North SHore Canoe Club

Race 8: 25th August- Lake Karapiro, Karapiro Kayak Racing CLub

Race 9: 31st AUGUST- GISBORNE, POverty Bay Kayak CLub

Race 10: 8th September- Tauranga, Bay of PLenty Paddle sports

Race 11: 14th September- CHristchurch, Arawa Canoe CLub

RACE 12/Series FINALE: 28th September- ROTORUA, Lake OKAREKA-
NZ 10Km Champs*

PADDLER WINTER Series and Points

A paddler's series points  will be the total of their best THREE race points. The top 3 results will be taken if they race more than 3 races. The paddler in each division with the most points at the end of the series will be the Paddler Winter Series division champion for that season and recognised at a prizegiving at the final event.

Each placing in an event will be allocated a number of points as shown below, per division. The final race in Rotorua, which doubles as the Canoe Racing NZ 10km Championship, is worth DOUBLE points. 

All Races (except 10km Championships)


1st: 10 points

2nd: 8 points

3rd: 7 points 

4th: 6 points

5th: 5 points

6th: 4 points

7th: 3 points

8th: 2 points

9th and lower: 1 point

* The 10km National Championships is worth double points.

In the event of total series points being equal following the conclusion of the series, the 10km National Championships will be the deciding race.


Age groups/divisions

Within the series, the following divisions will be recognised (both male and female):


  • 12years and Under - all craft

  • 14years and under - K1

  • 14years and under -  Ski/Multi

  • 16years and under- K1

  • 16years and under- Ski/Multi


  • K1 18years and under

  • K1 Open

  • K1 Masters 35-45years

  • K1 Masters 45-55years

  • K1 Masters 55-65 years

  • K1 Masters 65+

  • Multi-craft* 18years and Under

  • Multi-craft Open

  • Multi-craft Masters (over 40years)

Age divisions are determined based on paddler’s age as at 31 December of the year of the series. For example if you turn 14 anytime in 2024 you will be in 14&U but if you turn 15 anytime in 2024 you will be in 16&U.


Paddlers must be consistent with the category they race if they want to accumulate points for the series.  i.e. They either enter K1 or Multi-craft.  Paddlers are unable to win multiple categories in the series (age or craft).

jeremy andy michael.jpg

With this series we hope to:

  • Encourage the paddling community to keep active and social throughout the winter months.

  • Attract and bring together all paddlers and kayaking disciplines (kayak, ski, multisport, SUP, waka) 

  • Provide good quality events to allow paddlers to challenge themselves, compete and have fun.

  • Encourage inter-club/region relationships and connections

Previous Series Results

This series (formally known as the Kayak Krazy 10km series) has been running since 2011.
2023 Series Results

Check out all the previous series results here:

Thanks to the Race Organisers

This series is only possible thanks to the support of CRNZ Kayak Clubs who commit to running these events at their clubs for the benefit of paddlers.

If your club would like to run an event(s) in the series, please contact Karen Simpson

Whanganui 7 Aug.JPG
bottom of page